Travel Guide to Florida

2017 Travel Guide to Florida

Issue link: http://read.floridatravelguide.travel/i/760812

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 62 of 163

2017 TRAVEL GUIDE TO FLORIDA 61 S panning a 23-mile shoreline from Deerfield Beach south to Hallandale Beach, Greater Fort Lauderdale is the ideal family getaway. Come and make your own memories by enjoying the area's coastline, fantastic shopping and restau- rants that please every palate. DO Get out and feel the warm sand between your toes on one of the area's eight beaches. Snorkel or scuba dive along the 69 miles of natural offshore coral reef. Take an airboat ride into the Everglades to spy alligators and an exotic landscaped canvas only Mother Nature could produce. Sit back and take in your favorite sport. The Florida Panthers skate at BB&T Center in Sunrise, or catch a Miami Dolphins game at the Hard Rock Stadium. After a day of fun in the sun, set your sights on shopping. Visit Sawgrass Mills, the world's largest discount and entertainment mall, or discover the Swap Shop, the largest flea market in the south. Stroll down Las Olas Boulevard and duck into a quaint boutique, grab some lunch or people-watch from an outdoor café. Take the Water Taxi to Las Olas, which will also jet you over for more shopping at The Galleria. SEE Don't miss Butterfly World, the largest butterfly aviary in North America. Leave the car behind and hop on the Sun Trolley to take in the Bonnet House Museum & Gardens, the Fort Lauderdale History Center or the Stranahan House. Board Riverfront Cruises and learn about the celebrities who live in the mansions along the river. EAT AND PLAY Gogobot named Fort Lauderdale the number one mid-sized city for nightlife in the country. Whether it's salsa dancing or enjoying a cocktail by the sea, this area hops. Don't miss the Riverwalk Arts & Entertainment District or cruise aboard the famous Jungle Queen renowned for its barbeque and shrimp dinner. Check the concerts on tap at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Hard Rock Live and the BB&T Center. INSIDER'S TIP Greater Fort Lauderdale has become a hub for underground/indie music. Experi- ence the diverse music scene at F.A.T. Village (Flagler Arts and Technology) and Revolution Live. HELLO Sunny! BY KEVIN FRITZ G R E AT E R F O R T L A U D E R D A L E Greater Fort Lauderdale Convention & Visitors Bureau: sunny.org BB&T Center: thebbtcenter.com Bonnet House Museum & Gardens: bonnethouse.org Broward Center for the Performing Arts: browardcenter.org Butterfly World: butterflyworld.com F.A.T. Village: fatvillage.com Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi: watertaxi.com Fort Lauderdale Riverfront Cruises: riverfrontcruise.com Hard Rock Live: seminolehardrockhollywood.com Hard Rock Stadium: hardrockstadium.com Las Olas Boulevard: lasolasboulevard.com Riverwalk Arts & Entertainment District: riverwalkae.com Sawgrass Mills: simon.com/mall/sawgrass-mills Stranahan House: stranahanhouse.org Sun Trolley: suntrolley.com The Galleria at Fort Lauderdale: galleriamall-fl.com FEATURED LINKS TOP: An aerial view of Greater Fort Lauderdale. CENTER: Embark on an airboat ride into the Everglades.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Travel Guide to Florida - 2017 Travel Guide to Florida